Exclude Markdown marks (esp. link urls) from Character Count

Hi! How is it going on?

I’m new to Supernotes, and I’m enjoying it so far.

Just providing feedback: the character counter is counting the characters that make the Markdown link to websites, which makes no sense to me. For example:

[xxxxxxxxxxxxx] (yyyyyyyyyyyy)

In the example, the counter should consider only the X, never the Y.

Happens in all Windows devices I have.

Ty for the attention, and good luck to the project and the community!

1 Like

Hi @rleiro,

Welcome to the Supernotes Community, really happy to hear you’re enjoying the experience!

Thanks for opening this! Totally makes sense, this has been mentioned previously by @joplin6167 and others as well:

The character count should also exclude all the Markdown marks as well, such as ** or ==. I’ve renamed this and moved it into feature requests as it’s more of an improvement than a bug. We will up the priority of this, and hopefully get something out soon!

1 Like

Another way to think about the current system is as a “complexity count” rather than a “character count”. The goal of the system on Supernotes is not to nickel-and-dime people on content, but broadly to encourage breaking up long/complex content into smaller chunks, for various benefits (synthesis, organization, collaboration, etc).

Viewed in this light, it makes sense that a link would count as more characters, as it is a more “complex” structure than just plain text. A card with 100 links is very different from a card with 100 normal sentences.

Also remember that there is a soft-limit and a hard limit. The soft limit can be safely ignored – it is just a gentle nudge and you will probably hit it quite frequently with extended use of Supernotes. The hard limit is 10x the soft-limit, and hopefully you will never hit that limit due to link text counting against the allotment. If you do, it would probably be best to split that content up anyway.