Is there a way to retreive only notes with a specific tag using the API?

Hi, I’m new to Supernote and a (very) hobbyist programmer.

I’m playing with the public API, and I have a use-case to retrieve any notes that:

1. Have a match to some search text, and
  2. Have a specific tag.

For example, no matter how many matching notes I find using the search parameter of Get Selected Cards endpoint, I only want to return matches where the note also has a specific tag.

Using the search parameter seems straightforward, but I can’t find a way to filter the results by tags in the API. Is such a thing possible?

Hey @rogfrich, welcome to the Supernotes community and good question. And the answer is absolutely!

As of Supernotes 3.1, we have standardized the filtering system, so that the same filter_groups you see on Custom Collections you can also use with the filter_group parameter with the Get Selected Cards endpoint.

So if you want to retrieve all cards from the API that have the text “donut” and the tag “sweet”, you could send this request payload to Get Selected Cards:

{
    "filter_group": {
        "type": "group",
        "op": "and",
        "filters": [
            {
                "type": "content",
                "op": "contains",
                "arg": "donut"
            },
            {
                "type": "tag",
                "arg": "sweet"
            }
        ]
    }
}

Thanks @connor

Having slept on this, I actually thing I was barking up the wrong tree organisationally. This is all about making cards for highlights I’ve made in Kindle, which are automagically synced to Readwise. I have API access to both Readwise and SN, so for fun I’m trying to integrate the two.

I now think I want my hierarchy to look like this:

Screenshot 2024-06-23 at 15.50.44

The idea is that I will fetch all the highlights from Readwise. These are grouped by book, and I may have new highlights for a book that I’ve already got a card for. So the logic will be: