Types of Edges/Links: hypergraph

i love the inherent graph/network approach that Supernotes takes, and i’m a bit of a newbie, so this might not be the best characterization for this question, nor even the best way to frame this.

I understand how every note is a ‘node’ in our personal knowledge graph, and that we can connect notes/nodes via the concept of “Parent Card” or “internal reference links”. But is there a way to create “types of edges”? For example, let’s say we have an edge/link of type “healthcare” which sits inside our note called “budget” (“Parent/Root Node”): would it be possible to list all edges of type “healthcare”? This way, using this example, we’d be able to have a list of different types of edges that we can use: following this example, from our Parent Card “Budget” we can have edges that are of ‘healthcare’ type, that are of ‘mechanic’ type, of ‘utilities’ type, etc? (This would be instead of creating those as Cards/Notes and connecting them with the same “Budget” Parent Card, so we can eventually re-use such “edge/link types” in other scenarios.)

In slightly more cumbersome terminology, is there a notion of ‘hypergraph’ in Supernotes?

thanks in advance for any help, and i apologize if this is the wrong place to post this question…

Hi @danieldf, thanks for the interesting question.

The short answer is: no, Supernotes does not have “hypergraph” functionality which allows you to add additional dimensionality to your existing graph structure.

However, what we do have is orthogonal organizational concepts that you can use in tandem to achieve similar goals. As you’ve noted that means both a hierarchal parent/child relationship structure but also just a wiki-style hyperlink structure. One thing you didn’t mention though is the tagging system, which I think is probably closest to what you’re looking for here. If you just tag cards with certain properties, you can generally filter as you want with enough detail.