Opt out from collaboration features

Collaboration is great, but when I use app on my own (at least for now), these features are not helping - they bloat interface!

If I don’t have my notes shared, I don’t see why :heart:button should be displayed at all? Should I event be able to “like” my own note?

I think collaboration features should be:

  • Available contextually
  • Available to turn off in settings, so I can improve my single user experience

Thanks for considering this!

Some fair points!

Interestingly we actually do have users that use the “collaboration” features even in single-player mode. The “like” button can be used (and was designed to be used) as a “favoriting” tool, because of course you can filter your cards based on whether you’ve liked them or not.

Commenting wasn’t really designed for single-player, but we actually do have some users that leave comments for themselves, so wouldn’t be good for that use case if we just removed them for unshared cards.

Probably worth mentioning at this point that if you haven’t found it already there is the “seamless” mode (can be accessed with CMD/CTRL + E or from the noteboard dropdown menu). This will remove all interface elements from the cards except for the actual content. So if you weren’t aware of that option give that a go and see if it works for you.

But I can definitely understand how seamless might be too much reduction of interface, so I think a “streamlined” view that removes/reduces some of the stuff you don’t want to see while still keeping cards visually distinct could definitely be a feature worth adding.

Let me know if you’ve tried seamless mode (and if it’s too much of a good thing) and we can look into having a mode that straddles the line between the two!

If anyone else would like a viewing mode that is something between normal and seamless, please like this comment so that we can better gauge interest!

3 Likes

Well, it’s bigger discussion I guess, about product feature, however sometimes new features don’t mean better experience.

In my opinion it’s always good to allow user to craft one’s own experience - users who collaborate can use these features, users who don’t - are not distracted.

Let’s see Todoist for example. They allow collaboration features only if I invite someone to the project. I don’t have “assign to” button if I’m alone. It might sounds like its a nitpick, but it’s actually increasing cognitive load (“why should I like my own card”? “what is the difference between pin and like”)

Of course I understand the business model and you like to promote collaboration and make app more popular… But I believe in the end I will more likely recommend app if I literally l-o-v-e it, than if I’m propted to in navigation bar tab all the time (which I will never use)

Of course this is my opinion and I’m curious how other think.

But from both developer’s and productivity freak’s point of view (who also develops products), I vote for some feature flags in settings :wink:

I don’t think its major though - I rather think of future features and which direction app will go.
I have personal struggle if I should move my “second brain” here, which will cost me a lot of time, still not being sure what direction it will go. I have experience with tools who went into collaboration seriously and made me quit.

Anyway for now I like how it looks and look forward for the future releases

cheers